Differentiating Between Vedic and Western Astrology: What You Need to Know

Differentiating Between Vedic and Western Astrology: What You Need to Know

As someone who studies astrology, you’ve probably made your birth chart, used apps, and looked up your compatibility with someone you’re interested in. But did you know that Western astrology isn’t the only type of astrology?

Vedic astrology’s origins

People who practice Hindu astrology or Vedic astrology use the word Jyoti in the Sanskrit language, which means “light/heavenly body.” The word comes from the Rigveda, an ancient Indian text, though some say it’s been around since 10,000 BC.

Moondance Vedic Astrology founder Pamela McDonough says that Vedic astrology is full of Indian spiritual traditions and myths. Many people in India still believe that Jyotish is good science and, for them, it’s part of their daily lives.

Vedic astrology was used to figure out important dates for sacrifices and rituals in its early days. Over time, it became more and more personal. People started looking at its planetary movements to figure out what would happen to them.

Continue Reading More

12 Vedic signs

Like in Western astromancy, there are 12 signs in the Vedic zodiac, just like there are 12 in Western astrology. And it’s also interesting that the signs have a lot of the same traits. People have different dates.

So, if you say that your Western sun sign is who you are, be ready to have your boat rock a little. A complete Vedic chart can be found here. The Vedic sign dates are:

Aries: Mesha.

Taurus: Vrishaba.

Gemini: Mithuna.

Cancer: Karkata.

Leo: Simha.

Virgo: Kanya.

Libra: Tula.

Scorpio: Vrishchika.

Sagittarius: Dhanus.

Capricorn: Makara.

Aquarius: Kumbha.

Pisces: Meena.

Western astrology is very different from Vedic astrology

A different calendar is used in Vedic astrology

Western astrology is established on the “tropical calendar,” which the prevalence of the world uses, and the four seasons. Vedic astrology is supported by the sidereal system, which looks at the constellations that can be seen. There are two types of Western astrology: one that doesn’t change as much and one that works with the planets’ fixed places. Using Vedic astrology, you can learn more about your karma and what you should do in the long run.

Another difference is that Western astrology has become more psychological in recent years, while Vedic astrology is based on one’s karma.

Vedic astrology can also help us figure out our dharma, or life path, and show us our natural gifts and challenges. Helps us sufficiently understand our connections with family, friends, and other people in our lives. The more we know about this, the easier it is to deal with stress and our feelings of ups and downs.

Hindu astrology views retrogrades, sun signs, and rising signs differently

The two methods also have different ideas about what a retrograde planet is and what some of the planets are linked by. Notes: “All planets in Western astrology have the same relationship, such as a sextile, square, trine, or opposition.” This is how Vedic astrology works: Each planet has a specific aspect or set of aspects and a specific strength that can be used to help with that aspect.


There is a big difference when it comes between Vedic and Western astrology. Use: Western astrologers used the Tropical Zodiac. They use the Sidereal Zodiac based on the constellations in the sky.

System of the House

House systems used by Western Astrologers are different from those used by Vedic Astrologers, so this is not the same. Western Astrology used different house systems based on the degree of the ascendant at the start of the First House. These house systems were called “house systems.” Vedic Astrology, on the other hand, prefers whole-sign homes.

Planets and the signs they rule

Most of the major planets in western astrology are used. This includes Pluto and Uranus, as well as the other planets. These also look at the signs of the zodiac and the positions of the planets to see who is in charge. On the other hand, Vedic Astrology only looks at planets that can be seen. It also only uses traditional rulerships.

A planet’s strengths and weaknesses

Western astrology says that planets in retrograde are not as strong as they should be. Vedic Astrology focuses on how the planets look in the sky on the opposite side. Vedic astrology says that retrograde planets are strong because they are visible. After all, they are bigger, brighter, and more visible.

Primary distinctions between Western and Vedic astrology

Both have been studied, researched, and used for a long time. People who study or use this subject think of it as sacred. Vedic Astrologers help people who follow this science-backed tradition stay physically, mentally, and spiritually healthy. No matter what type of astrology service one chooses, it is crucial to have faith and believe in the service.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.